Posted in life

From Yesterday by Anupam Dasgupta-Book review


Author Anupam Dasgupta
About the Author Anupam Dasgupta writes contemporary fiction largely based on his personal experiences and observations. He firmly believes in the adage, “truth is stranger than fiction” and is of the opinion that the world around us is full of interesting events and colorful characters. “From Yesterday” is Anupam’s second novel. His debut novel “Salsa!” was released in May 2013 and was subsequently re-published as “Salsa World is a small place” in February 2014. His interviews and articles related to the book were featured in leading Indian dailies like “The Times of India,” “The Hindu,” “The New Indian Express” and “Deccan Chronicle.” Anupam has done his Bachelors in Engineering from Jadavpur University and MBA from IIM Indore. He has worked for more than a decade across roles in Business Development, Consulting and Strategic Planning. He currently works and lives in Bangalore, India. Besides his passion for writing, Anupam has an ear for soulful music and loves singing. He is also an avid follower of Latin dance forms and a keen social dancer. Anupam can be reached at dasgupta.anupam@ ymail.com.
ISBN 9789352015924
Price [INR] Rs. 225
Pages 224
Main Plot given Adi and Anita meet in Chennai and instantly fall for each other. However Anita’s past comes back to haunt her. The sequence of events that follow, leave Adi heart-broken. Adi moves to Chicago for work and happens to meet Christina. Christina is instinctively attracted to Adi. On the other hand, Adi distinctly senses the presence of Anita around him.

‘From Yesterday’ takes us into the world of love as Adi, Anita and Christina brush each other’s lives in the beautiful city of Chicago. Does Adi find his true love? Does he find Anita in Chicago? Does Christina lose in love? Adi unravels the answers to all these questions, as he gazes at the Bean, on a cold evening in the Windy city.”

No. of Characters Anita, a make—up artist blessed with name, fame and fortune, yet cursed with a lonely and loveless existence.

Adi, a young, ambitious and jet setting management professional, yet nursing a broken heart.

Christina a bright, young and independent individual, brimming with optimism.

Tone of writing is The story is kind of in flashback mode as the title suggests. With a touch of suspense and mystery. There are more of colloquial words used making it a light read.
My take on the book The book kind of gives today’s scenario, where people are carrier oriented, try to seek their soul mates through social media sites and where age doesn’t matter.

The characters are well etched, showing the goodness of each character, evolution of a person from bad past to not able to accept someone because of the age difference in case of Anita shows her tenderness. Adi seems to fall so deeply in love with Anita, making him not accept Christian, shows his sincerity. I feel if I write more, it would be a spoiler.

Being from Chennai, I loved the parts best where he describes about the city and Chicago too.

Do I recommend the book? Yes, a light read.
On the other hand my rating: 3.5/5.

Finally I would like to Thank the Leadstart Publishing for sending me the copy. It will be kept safe along with my other treasured books.

 

Author:

I welcome you here! My blog is primarily a blank paper with chronicles of my everyday thoughts and happenings around me spilling like colours. It has various hues, bright, cheerful at times dark episodes of my life. I like to speak a lot and tell stories, but rarely find patient listeners. So, here I am venting out, everything crossing my mind. it is also a record book of my little Barbie’s antics and growth. It is just not about the baby ,but also helps me to keep track of fights and special moments with husband, in-laws and friends. I am an Architect by profession working for an Govt. organization.living away from husband because of job location. I love writing, painting, reading and cooking (occasionally).I like roaming around and window shopping. But, now unable to move even an inch outside, because of my daughter. I am originally from Andhrapradesh and have lived in Tamilnadu for 25 years and now back in Andhra. So you will find mix of words from both the languages and me trying to settle down in this new place. Thanks for stopping by. I would love to hear from you. Please email me at ashreyamom@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

