Posted in life

AajKalKeBacche???


note: this post contains conversation between my daughter and me majorly. My daughter is 4 years old. 

“AajKalKeBacche”, I am not sure how many times I used this Phrase in past one year.. may be more than 5 times  everyday.

It started with My daughter demanding a “Tablet” for her birthday. As usual, being a guilty parent, my husband who stays away from us got her” the gadget ” as gift. From then on, my life changed a lot..


Me: Bunty pack your bag for school.

Bunty: Why so many books amma.. I wish I could just take the Tablet with me for school.. I can Play when teacher is not looking at me. trace alphabets than writing on book so many times.

Me: what???AajKalKeBacche??know to use gadgets and relate it to everyday life. 


Me: Bunty, come write Homework

Bunty: I don’t want to write

Me: you have to write dear..

After so many talks, bribing, crying she agreed to write. and she was not writing properly, as in not touching the red line in her four line book.

Me: Bunty write properly. ( in a harsh tone, as I was losing patience)

Bunty: why are you behaving like a “stepmother”.

Me: ( all shocked) what? from where do you learn such things??

Bunty: yes, Cinderella’s stepmother keeps troubling her and gives her a lot of homework.

checking the YouTube history gave me an insight that she has been watching in YouTube . AajKalKeBacche?? learn from stories and use it in their vocabulary. 


we are using Dishtv at home. I didn’t expect her to handle two remotes. But she just remembers the channel number and explores the cartoon channels with up and down button.. my MIL in spite of teaching her so many times couldn’t gasp it.

we had gone to hospital has my second child was not feeling well. It was 6.30 in the morning. we didn’t want to wake Bunty. So, we decided to keep the door of the apartment open, and leave her informing the neighbors. She had woken up before we returned . it seems she searched the house, didn’t find us. she climbed the dining table to find my MIL’s mobile phone. she called to my number. I was really overwhelmed. She had so much of maturity to control her anxiety and search for a tool to reach us. she was  happily watching TV till we came back. AajKalKeBacche?? know to tackle situation beyond our expectations.


Bunty is extensively using my phone and tablet. So I decided to switch off the Wifi at home. Smart girl found it out and just switched the button on immediately after I switch off.  So, I went a step ahead and stared disabling it in tablet when she is not looking. unfortunately, she learnt the trick too. then I put a password. Dint know she is such a good observer, she unlocks it too. So, I need to be really techie to handle these days kids.AajKalKeBacche?? keep us motivated to learn and keep updated.

Apps.

There are so many educational apps. so had installed few for her. went little ahead and added few games. But now, with related search history she had installed 78 games and tried playing most of them. lucky that it has parental control. it has so many games that manicure for Barbie, haircut, baking, changing diaper for baby, what not?? crazy game designer I say..


one day, she was really getting late for school. I was at door holding her bag and shoes. she came out to wear them, suddenly she ran inside. I was really anxious , didn’t know what I forgot. she went inside, just to out a lip balm.. ( she assumes it to be lipstick, gave it to her as it was winter) .

Me: was it necessary to wear it now??

Bunty:  I can’t come out without wearing lip balm.

Me:( faints)AajKalKeBacche?? observe us getting ready, and of course TV advertisement teach them a lot . 


At School:

Teacher: all of you bring your notebooks.

Bunty: I don’t want so much of homework.

Teacher: you have come to big class. so you need to learn more.

Bunty: If you give me so much of homework, I will not come to your school.

Teacher: ( before she could recover from the shock)

Bunty has managed to pool in other kids and all of them shouted saying ” we don’t want homework”. I am sure she is going to be a Union leader. Teacher lost, and didn’t give homework that day.

Teacher: Bunty do exercise.

Bunty: ( after doing for 5 or  6 counts) I can’t do it anymore.

Teacher: why?

Bunty: when my grandma was young she worked a lot. all her joints have eroded. If I do exercise, then I will also have pain when I become old.

Teacher: AajKalKeBacche….

These are just few glimpse. But there are many more instances where i had felt ” Kids these days” syndrome. Hope God gives me all energy to tackle this kid.. 😛


This blogger contest is supported by Kid Social Shell, a unique digital parenting platform with 11 gaming-learning apps. Use it play 3D nursery rhymes, counting number games, shapes games, fun math worksheets, coloring games and more!”

Author:

I welcome you here! My blog is primarily a blank paper with chronicles of my everyday thoughts and happenings around me spilling like colours. It has various hues, bright, cheerful at times dark episodes of my life. I like to speak a lot and tell stories, but rarely find patient listeners. So, here I am venting out, everything crossing my mind. it is also a record book of my little Barbie’s antics and growth. It is just not about the baby ,but also helps me to keep track of fights and special moments with husband, in-laws and friends. I am an Architect by profession working for an Govt. organization.living away from husband because of job location. I love writing, painting, reading and cooking (occasionally).I like roaming around and window shopping. But, now unable to move even an inch outside, because of my daughter. I am originally from Andhrapradesh and have lived in Tamilnadu for 25 years and now back in Andhra. So you will find mix of words from both the languages and me trying to settle down in this new place. Thanks for stopping by. I would love to hear from you. Please email me at ashreyamom@gmail.com.

6 thoughts on “AajKalKeBacche???

  1. Bunty is really really smart 😀 hahahaha Loved the union leader part 😀
    Ajjkal k bache scare the hell out of me. I don’t know what I will do when I have one of my own!!

Leave a Reply

