Profit or Loss??


I wish to get my story published in Chicken Soup for the Indian Entrepreneurs Soul in association with BlogAdda.com

Few months after I my marriage, i realized that my life is under mess. Me and my husband had to repay too many loans. My husband was not ready to tell me the details. He just said, “ Don’t count my salary for household expenses, run the house in single salary ”. The one thought which struck me was, “ what if I had not been working?”. Still I waited for him to open up. Few more months passed, I became pregnant. House expenses raised. Due promotion missed him, putting us in more pain. To pay back a loan with high interest rate, I had to take a loan in my name for the first time. Staying away from husband for the job, running around banks with a growing child inside me, made me cry day and night.

I thought everything will be under control as I am going to my parents place for my baby’s  birth. I was going to live there for more than 7-8 months. Mean while I would get increments, so can manage with my salary and all the savings when I will return. But my parents constant pressure of buying  a property irritated me. How do I tell them that even after earning a six digit salary, me and my hubby are under a financial crisis, and I don’t know the reason for the same.

Finally the secret was revealed. He with his best friends have opened a software company a year ago. They all had taken loans and invested on the infrastructure.  Initially the company went on well, they developed few softwares and earned a nice amount. My Brother-in-law who got selected for American embassy, got fascinated by this software company and didn’t accept his offer letter. Brother-in-law became the in-charge of the company. Rest of the partners went ahead with their regular jobs. None of them turned back to look at the company. Slowly the recession started. They didn’t get any project. All of them had to put extra money from their pocket to pay the electricity bills, rent and staff salary. The burden hit all. Mean while our wedding was fixed, so hubby had to take another loan for the wedding expenses. For so many things, his salary was not sufficient which increased the pressure on me. I had to work till last to compensate the expenses.

Problem was simple, all the partners lost interest in the company. Each one got an onsite offer, and moved on with their lives and paying back loans was easier for them. My family, me, hubby and Brother-in-law were caught with the dilemma of running or closing the company.Brother-in-law was not paid any salary. So, that meant we had to pay for his expenses too. Every week video conferencing of the partners slowly reduced with their own family priorities. My peace of mind was lost in the whole process.

Finally the infrastructure and prime location of the company came to rescue. We sublet half the premises for a testing centre. The testing centre needed a computer administrator for the operation for which Brother-in-law fitted in. Testing centre took care of the salary of Brother-in-law, rent and the electricity bill. Luckily it was a gain from the drain. Atleast we didn’t have to shell out extra money from our pocket every month.  I realized that any amount of talking, arguing or crying is going to change my husbands or his partner’s way of looking at their business.

All the partners seem to have a job in hand which pays them well. This software company is laid side track, and they have lost the interest in very early stage of it. They don’t want to take risk by leaving their present jobs and hunt for new projects. They have got used to their lavish lifestyles( expect my family), so its difficult for them to sustain the pressure of financial crisis. The location of their current jobs, each of them is literally staying in different countries. Communication and staying connected is also becoming a trouble. The company is still there for namesake without much of development.

Starting a business is not a big deal; people should also have the stamina and willpower to run it. Incase one partner is not ready or accepting the advancement, other should convince or get convinced. the fire to run, the goal to achieve, targets should be clear. With every hurdle, a new solution should be found, dream should become bigger. Running away is not a solution . entrepreneur is true fighter.   

16 thoughts on “Profit or Loss??

  1. this one fear of risking at this stage is keeping us away from taking that required plunge to concentrate on our own start-up… but I’m sure, we’ll be fine in sometime and do it our own way, cause like you said once invested (time and money) should be taken to the T to harvest 🙂

  2. Well written post AM and cannot agree more with you , starting a company is so easy these days, but believing and sticking to your dream is indeed a commitment for life, people who does become successful , everyone has dreams but the one living their dreams will be the one successful . Hugs to you!!

  3. God! This must be so much stressful!!! I have always been wary of business, I guess I don’t have guts to take that much risk. My hubby has a dream of owning a business but I always feel that u need to chose ur partners well otherwise we have u example here!!!!

    Hope all the issues get resolved soon 🙂

  4. I have been in business and know how hard it is to sustain it. Constant attention and immense self-motivation. but glad that guys managed it well in the end. Tough times don’t last but tough people do. All the best 🙂

  5. I can fully understand your pain AM. Thankfully the testing centre was started and you guys were saved. Business always means profits and losses but it requires constant care inspite of what the outcomes might be. The final para said it all. Hugs!

Leave a Reply

