world is shrinking…


 

I have been talking about living away from hubby from day one of wedding( blame it on the offer letter the post man brought on our wedding day). Work is the one keeping us away or in other words the financial pressures.

We had a chance of meeting each other when I was in Bangalore. It was more than essential during our initial post wedding days. Later it became once a fortnight when I moved to Vizag, and now that he is oceans apart, it is all the more worse.

The geographic division between us brought in the additional responsibilities for me. I just feel suffocated with no time for me. Every day has become a race for me with paying bills, calling plumber or carpenter, going to hardware shop or installing software, Taking care of self and family’s health. This also includes making travel plans for in-laws, booking, re-booking and cancellation of tickets.  This makes me long for a partner, who would share my responsibility.  Well, to top it all, I have my appraisal and work pressure building up at work.

Leave all that physical strain on me, but it makes me feel worse when Bunty gets attached to everyman who even slightly resembles my hubby. She doesn’t come back to me. I am in tears when she shows her little fingers towards the laptop and says “daddy”, waiting for me to connect via Skype. This leaves a scar in my heart. Am I not disturbing the father daughter relation by just not willing to sacrifice my career?

Aren’t we finding this happening commonly in every house now a days? ( of course the house where people have decided not to loose their career or, didn’t want to spoil kids education as it is best at particular place. Or there is a onsite offer and one of the spouse has to go abroad. )

Is it all because we are specific, make priority of certain things and loose on other?. Or it is because people have moved ahead the old thought of men being the bread winner and go and stay with him for rest of life. Or it because women too want a career and want to be independent, proves themselves. Or it is because we want to send our kids to better schools at cities and decide to live away from spouse to be with the kids for education and well being. Or it is because we have accepted the fact that world is shrinking.

Whatever might be the reason I think the survival is there even after the distance only because of the great electronic inventions? But for mobile phones, laptops, 3G-2G connection and Skype and internet, this would have been impossible.

photo credit

I think in spite of romancing the technology and trying in be touch with the families, people still want the physical touch to comfort them.

To sum up, I just wanted to highlight the priorities of this generation has changed for good or bad . people don’t mind the physical distance, and living their life independently by purely depending on gadgets for communication.  People are patient enough to wait till weekend to see each other virtually, despite the time lap they have.  Older generations trying to learn and operate new gadgets to respond to their little onces far away. Little one waiting for the goodies the parent would get, and show off at school about him/she holding a passport in their name and would travel in flight. The spouse trying hard to fulfill the child’s and family’s wishes with a smile on her face and hoping to complete the family with his arrival soon.

Note: this post is for you dear hubby. Missing you a lot.. come back soon.

23 thoughts on “world is shrinking…

  1. I don’t know how you guys do it but once I had to stay away from my wife for a month and I almost came to pulling off my hair and scratching the walls. It was then that both of us decided that we will never pick up anything in our professions which will keep us separate.
    I have always believed that you have this one life and each day gone is a day less in your life. And who knows about tomorrow?
    Hope you find peace soon. 🙂

    1. i accept that we dont know what is in store for us tomorrow.. i am just waiting for my daughters passport and visa process.. hope it all goes well and i will be able to join my hubby.. 🙂

  2. Sigh!!! What do I say? I have always been against families living seperately (for whatever reasons) but then I also know that I am no one to judge anybody because I don’t know the reasons behind the move. But yes I am very clear if my hubby moves out to other city I too will be moving with him otherwise won’t let him move because no one would enjoy life either way.

    As far as you are concerned I will only say stay strong and I hope you find a solution to your problems 🙂

    1. i had been strong and lived with not much of prob.. but just looking at bunty and her need to be with dad is making me cry.. :(..

      yup, he is coming back in nov.. so just waiting for the time to fly.. 🙂

  3. It’s a brave new world. We humans are rediscovering the limits of what it means to be in a relationship. Old paradigms are recognized as being just that – paradigms, and not something set it stone.

    As Galadriel said in LOTR: “The world is changing. I feel it in the water, I feel it in the earth. I smell it in the air”.

  4. Hugs hugs and more hugs A! I can already relate to what you are undergoing, for I too will sail the same boat soon.

    I wish, you have your hubby with you as soon as possible.

Leave a Reply

