Posted in learning and investigations, man and women, people and surroundings

why I wear Mangasutra


I have seen so many people making a “style statement” saying I don’t wear Mangalsutra. I don’t know why? What is harm in wearing it?. I am not against people not wearing it( repeating it). It’s their comfort and preference; I just hate people who say it to show off. I know people who remove it during night, as it pricks them or during bath or while traveling. But they don’t advertise it. It’s purely functional. Even there are few people who say that, they don’t like wearing it. I don’t hate them also. I hate the once who wear it, but just remove it to show off that they are trendy.

Image

Finally there came a day when I had to justify to one of those ladies why I wear Mangalsutra. Don’t you think it’s weird? Yes, but such things do happen.

So here is the reply what I gave her in points, like how we write in exams.

  • I wear it because I want to look married and acknowledged.
  • I feel secure when I am alone.
  • It has become a part of me like an organ, so I don’t have problem wearing it all the time J
  • I feel it’s an accessory and collection in my jewels.
  • Its play thing for my daughter when I breastfeed her.
  • It’s a store place to hang my house keys and safety pins.
  • It’s a symbol of love for me with lots of good memories related to my marriage.
  • I feel there is power to things which are done with blessing of god, people and Agni.
  • I treasure as it is the first gift my in-laws have given me in gold.
  • I am thinking of the tenth point and I am not getting it. so, I end up saying I like wearing it.. J
Author:

I welcome you here! My blog is primarily a blank paper with chronicles of my everyday thoughts and happenings around me spilling like colours. It has various hues, bright, cheerful at times dark episodes of my life. I like to speak a lot and tell stories, but rarely find patient listeners. So, here I am venting out, everything crossing my mind. it is also a record book of my little Barbie’s antics and growth. It is just not about the baby ,but also helps me to keep track of fights and special moments with husband, in-laws and friends. I am an Architect by profession working for an Govt. organization.living away from husband because of job location. I love writing, painting, reading and cooking (occasionally).I like roaming around and window shopping. But, now unable to move even an inch outside, because of my daughter. I am originally from Andhrapradesh and have lived in Tamilnadu for 25 years and now back in Andhra. So you will find mix of words from both the languages and me trying to settle down in this new place. Thanks for stopping by. I would love to hear from you. Please email me at ashreyamom@gmail.com.

6 thoughts on “why I wear Mangasutra

  1. It takes courage to go your own way while all around you want to be seen as “trendy” and “fashionable”. Hats off for standing your ground.

  2. I am one of those who don’t wear it. I wore it for the first 6 years of my marriage. When daughter was born, it used to fall on her when I breastfed her, and I took it off, because I was scared of hurting her. Then on, I never felt like wearing it. It was a thick chain, and I realized after taking it off, that I felt more comfortable without it. I used to worry about it showing, chain snatching etc etc , and felt much much more comfortable without it. I used to take great pains to ensure that it wasn’t seen under my clothes – so started to reason – why wear it if it just makes me uncomfortable. Plus, it also rankles me that it indicates the marital status of a woman – so it stayed off. And now, I wear it as a fashion accessory – with clothes that go with it. Each to her own, I guess. If wearing it makes someone happy – they should wear it, and if not wearing it makes someone happy – they should have the freedom to not wear it – with no one questioning them on their choices..

    1. welcome here smitha.. yes, i like your comment as you have a reason for not wearing it.. i was just talking about people who make it a statement( style/fashion) and still have values for it. i am not getting right words to express it.. its just for those people..

      1. As I see it, some people like to wear mangalsutra, so they wear it.. Some don’t like it, so they don’t wear it. A third set want to make a statement, so even if they value it, they pretend not to. What exactly is wrong with that other than the fact that they may be afraid of society? If society leave them alone, they too will make a definitive stance either way. Some people wear mangalsutra as a fashion statement. Each one to their own. isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

